A Week In Review

This week I have been to the cinema three times. You could say I have a problem, and you would definitely be correct. I’m not going to go fully in depth with these “reviews” but I will write a little thing on each of them.
Split 

This was undoubtedly an amazing performance from James McAvoy and Anya Taylor-Joy. However, it left a bad taste in my mouth. I thought it demonised mental illness a little and while I thought Anya’s story-line was handled with some delicacy in the beginning, when it was revealed in full, that delicacy was washed away. I wouldn’t watch it again.

Jackie

Now this film was great. Natalie Portman acted her arse off and the impression was good. While it slipped a couple of times, the accent was good. It was coloured beautifully too, it was the first thing I noticed. The score was great – equal parts sad and grand. One thing with the film was that it would position original 1963 footage directly next to 2016 footage and it kind of took me out of the film a little bit. It was unfortunate but it was only a minor problem with an otherwise wonderful film.

Sing 

This movie was so much fun. That’s the only way I can describe it. It had so much heart and really cheered me up.  The highlights: not knowing that Leslie Jones, Beck Bennett and Jay Pharaoh were in it, and Tori Kelly. Genuinely when Leslie’s character first started speaking my ears visibly pricked up then at the end when the credits rolled and I saw the cast list, I nearly kicked the guy in front of me’s head because I got so excited. It was too much.

 

It’s been a week. I have no idea what I’m going to see next week so… this’ll be fun.

– emmy

Leave a Reply

